Tides

Monday was hill-repeats…. I don’t really class what I do as ‘training’. Just because ‘training’ implies structure, effort and planning. Three things that haven’t really been a priority of mine!

It sounds strange to claim to be an ultra-runner with this lack of real work but in reality, when you’re not trying to win ( and you know that you can make it over mountains and keep going for over 50 miles, 18hrs+) it’s just maintenance to keep ticking over… 

I’m reading that back now- 

( and you know that you can make it over mountains and keep going for over 50 miles, 18hrs+)

Ok so that sounds impressive I suppose but when I ran my first ultra, I’d just run a marathon before that- it was all unchartered territory. 

It’s mapped out now, I know what to expect. Again, it’s about stretching your experience, some people use the analogy of ‘unlocking doors’, for me, it’s like a sunrise, or a tide, the shadows shrink away, you step into a new revealed space. It’s not always in your control (like opening a door), night  falls, the tide draws in, you wonder if you can do it again….

  

The Sea and the Alps, Claude Monet, 1888

You get to know yourself a little better and when you’re sat eating sweets and watching TV, you know, you just know that you have it in you, somewhere.

Today was cross-country, around 5 miles. It was ok, muddy, wet.

The big news is that we’re on the TDS again, the 74 mile, 7250m elevation, alpine race. Starting in Courmayeur and finishing in Chamonix. Attempt #2. We called at a day at 47 miles last year, as night fell.

So I am now eating sweets and watching TV…

Do I have it in me?

Leave a Reply

