A Weekend in Borrowdale

With our camper van skills down to a science, we thought we’d take advantage of another good forecast and book a couple of nights in Chapel Stile Campsite, Stonethwaite. 

On the Friday night we went out for a nice meal at the Scafell Hotel, we both ordered scallops to start, Ed had Lakeland Lamb and I had the Sea Bass. It was a lovely evening and the service was excellent, over a bottle of wine we discussed the route for the following day.

 We woke up to the sound of a cuckoo calling and had our breakfast. It was muggy and although the summits appeared to be clear, it was hazy and promised to be a sweaty day of grafting.

  
We jogged along the road for a couple of miles to Seathwaite, Ed regailing me with fell running stories along the way. To the left of us loomed Scafell Pike, not today. We’d planned a route up Great Gable, Green Gable and back to Stonethwaite via the Honister.

  
The initial climb up Styhead Pass was pretty steady. I’d brought my poles to get back into the habit of using them as the monster TDS awaits us in August and that is a race that demands poles. It was very sheltered and subsequently the heat was oppressive, it was muggy and thick. We stopped to wet our buffs  before persevering up the rocky ascent.

  
  
We summitted Great Gable and took a frustratingly stone-strewn descent through Windy Gap and up the aptly named Green Gable. This was a good ascent and pleasingly, we were at the top in no time. It has to be my favourite thing, being on the fells with Ed. It’s where nothing and no one else matters, everything else just falls away and life seems so simple and real.

   

 
   
 We dropped down to the Honister Pass, by the slate mine and wound our way down back to the campsite where we rehydrated with a cold cider and  lay on the grass.

 
This brings me to part two of this post:

Medal of the Month!

I’ve chosen today’s medal as the race was partly inspiration for an article that I’ve written. It’s going to be published in the next edition of ULTRA Magazine- very exciting!

https://www.ultraevolution.com

The race was one that I detested from start to finish. It broke me mentally, even though on paper, it should have been a doddle. I remember how badly I let myself down that day, just because my head wasn’t in the right place. ‘My mind is a powerful thing’ – I finished the race, got the medal….and a bag of flour for my Mum. It has a greater significance now, it represents overcoming negative thoughts and behaviours. It represents not giving up, even when there seems to be no way out. It represents vague hopes.

It’s the Silloth Half Marathon.

  

Leave a Reply

