Gatesgarth Pass Loop

With our next big ultra event in July- the Lakeland 50, we decided to recce a section of the route. We parked by Haweswater at Mardale Head and picked up the path to Gatesgarth Pass.
    

 Dropped down into Sadgill and cut across near Kentmere

  
  It was a good opportunity to test out my new shoes- Innov-8 Terraclaw 250s. I made the switch after having the same structural issue repeating over and over again with each set of Speedcross. So far so good anyway, they’re a lot roomier and have a really good grip on wet rock.

A grassy climb brought us up Withered Howe where we stopped for some scran and a rest. I’ve been enjoying napping outside in the recent good weather, it was just a little too cold today…

  
  
 I was working hard to stay in the moment today, sometimes it feels like the scenery just passes behind me while I go through the motions, like how they used to film against moving backdrops in old films. I was feeling really tired after a busy week and was a little wrapped up in my thoughts. Ed asked me what I was counting, I didn’t even realise I was, I was counting down on my fingers how many lessons I had left to teach before the holidays.
   
   

We climbed up a grassy ascent to Kentmere Pike and over Brown Howe to Harter Fell.

  
From here we dropped back down through Gatesgarth Pass over Little Harter Fell and back to the car. 11 miles and just over 1000 metres of ascent.

Leave a Reply

