Latrigg Fell Race and other stuff.

Staggered around my first fell race Wednesday, an ‘easy’ one- Latrigg. I’d recce’d the route on Sunday and surprised myself by being able to run 90% of the way from the bottom of Spooney Green to the summit of Latrigg. A huge achievement for me as I really lack confidence on hills. 

We arrived and on the start line were told that the route had been changed last minute so I felt a little nervous as it wasn’t what I’d prepared for. I don’t usually worry too much about routes for shorter races but because this was a Keswick AC race the standard of runners is amazingly high. I was worried that I’d struggle and it would be more Lastrigg than Latrigg!

It was a beautiful evening, a little muggy. The race started in the park at 7pm following a footpath on to Brundleholme Road. The ascent begins here and I tried to get my breathing right (one of the reasons why I was successful in the recce) but on the night I found it difficult and made much slower progress.

Instead of the climb up to Latrigg the route continued around Gale Road car park and headed towards Skiddaw, taking a right turn and followed a steady rise along the Cumbria Way to the gate on Lonscale Fell. This was the turn-around point. 

I felt good on the descent and made up a couple of places, finishing with a little sprint over the line to beat the bloke in front.

It was tough but I did enjoy it so I think I’ll do another fell race.

So that was Wednesday and today (Sunday) I had a slow 7 mile jog around the river. I’ve just finished packing for the TDS. Send me your happy thoughts on Wed/Thurs please people! I’m going to need all the help I can get.

I don’t really have any exciting pictures to go with this post but I did have an interesting hair day today so there you go:

I don’t know what it is or why it is but it’s within us all and can never really be satisfied, once you get a glimpse of the possibilities life becomes a little duller, a little slower, a little safer. I really want this.

Leave a Reply

