High Pike and Where’s Walla

This Saturday I tried my hand at being a domestic goddess as I spent the morning helping my Mum with her bread course….unfortunately I was more like a kitchen troll….But did my best, even if it was mostly washing dishes and trying not to fall out with my Dad who was also part of the kitchen troll brigade. It was 1.30pm before I was able to dust off the flour from my inov-8’s as Ed whisked me away. Early as it was, the light was fading and so we grabbed our kit and headed to Caldbeck.

The pictures speak for themselves really and it was one of those wonderful runs where everything just seems so perfect.


The snow was pretty deep but made for some great descending/falling.



Sunday was a different story, Ed had been trying to persuade me to enter a fell race with him but I felt really nervous as there wasn’t going to be many entrants. After some cajoling, he offered to run with me (what a sweetheart ❤️) and so I gave in.

The nicely named ‘Where’s Walla’ was a pretty low key affair, starting from the Kong Adventure Centre in Keswick it wound its way around the lake shore before heading up Cat Gill. I was trying pretty hard and by the time we got to the climb I was a mess. Still, with Ed’s encouragement, I pressed on and tried to make the best of it. We reached the top of Walla and began the grassy descent. I’ve just bought some new Terra Claws and decided to go with my old ones today, a decision I would regret as I fell over and slid down the grassy bank…twice. Yesterday’s snowy tumble was clearly prophetic.

Ed picked me up and we made it down the rest of the descent, albeit a little more cautiously. In no time we were on the last part of that picks up the footpath to Springs Road and heads back into town for the finish.

I was absolutely exhausted but soon recovered enough to look round the shops in Keswick.

Finally, I’ve had a lot of positive comments about my latest Ultra-Thought, it’s really appreciated! Thank you!

Keep checking back as I’m working on my online shop so for those of you asking about prints/mugs etc. there should be something available in the next few weeks. Otherwise feel free to get in touch via Twitter: @hailultratrail or ig: hailultratrail 😊

Leave a Reply

