The Anvil

Well, nothing running related but can’t not write about today’s experience at L’enclume.

I’d booked it for Ed’s birthday and after hearing so much about it, we both had extremely high expectations. We were not disappointed.

We went for the full 18 course tasting menu, and, after an astute recommendation from a colleague, opted for a bottle of English sparkling wine rather than the wine pairing (after a couple of local beers of course)

The menu was as follows:


I did take pictures throughout, I’m going to argue that it was not to the detriment of the experience, it was so well paced that there was plenty time to fully appreciate the sights, smells and service…as well as the taste obviously. 

Here we go:







The photos may be a little out of order but  you get the gist.

Highlights (well it was all amazing- best meal I’ve ever had in my life..) for Ed, the artichoke, chicken dumpling and the beef.

For me- the veal tartare- who knew!? I’m usually a tad squeamish about that sort of thing but wow, I was blown away. The scallop, turbot, onion and the anvil-just stunning.

Because it was Ed’s birthday we were lucky to have a surprise course as well!


Currently planning our run tomorrow…and our next visit to L’enclume!

‘I like too many things and get all confused and hung-up running from one falling star to another till I drop.’ 

On the Road, Jack Kerouac

Leave a Reply

