The Perfect Murder Weapon

Where do I start with this one?

How about a selfie, as today is the last day of pink hair:


Now that’s out of the way, I’m going to rush through this post as I’m packing for my trip to Prague! Watch this space because I’ve booked a running tour of the city on Friday, first time that I’ve done anything like that so I’m excited to see how it goes.

On to the post, well we had planned to do a take on the Kentmere Horseshoe, starting at Haweswater (different from the actual route). We set off in glorious weather (…and technicolor) up Nan Bield Pass.


We were chatting away and Ed commented on how it was supposed to have been frosty last night and it didn’t materialise, it was, as I said a beautiful sunny day. We carried on, taking in the stunning views. As we headed towards Harter Fell, I spotted some icicles on a peat verge. These were mega icicles, like murder weapon icicles…impressed, I snapped one off and shouted at Ed ‘Look my perfect murder weapon!’ (You know that whole silly thing about it melting, no evidence blah blah)…


Well from here it went a bit wrong, I don’t want to come off as psycho here, I don’t make a habit of inflicting pain on Ed but I have to admit, I like to playfully poke him with stuff… so ok, I don’t know what possessed me but I poked him in the leg (not with force!!) with this icicle.. well, it was a hell of a lot sharper than I thought and it hit a vein…. it wasn’t pretty, soon ‘my perfect murder weapon’ was looking a little too perfect.

The bleeding stopped, I’m Outdoor First Aid qualified people, don’t worry. It was just the size of a pinprick, Ed laughed it off….I felt absolutely terrible and vowed never to poke him with anything again. Don’t judge me.

We dropped down into Kentmere…me, rather sheepishly I must say. We decided to cut the route short (Not because of the icicle incident, we were just hungry and tired) and looped back up to Nan Bield Pass and home….only slightly traumatised.


Sorry Ed!!

Leave a Reply

