Lord’s Seat and #committedinov8

I spent the latter half of Wednesday’s work day running about in a forest in Newcastleton. We did a couple of laps of The Hanging Tree trail. A beautiful route, eerily quiet (and supposedly haunted) historic drovers trail. Often targeted by my ancestors- the Border Reivers. 5 slow miles of pure joy.


Then it was off to Whinlatter for the Lord’s Seat fell race. Billed as an ‘introductory’ fell race, it is easy nav and ‘easy’ trails (in the sense of not technical, it’s a long old climb and a long old descent). After my sleepy forest miles, a massive sandwich (cheese, salami-the works) and the warming comfort of the car heater, I was feeling soporific and slept until the start.

The race itself wasn’t groundbreaking for me in terms of performance (when is it ever!?) but it was an exercise in managing a busy day and getting the most out of things. I felt good, enjoyed the views and overtook a few people on the descent, really enjoyed the whole thing.


I got home and had battered sausage and chips to round off the day.

My other news is that I’ve been chosen as one of the four people to be part of Trail Running Magazine and Inov-8’s #committedinov8 campaign!! 

I’m so excited and am waiting to find out more, it is linked to blogging so I will be sharing details soon- stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

