Limits

You learn a lot about life through running. It’s about limits, when to stop, when not to start. It’s taken a couple of years to learn this, it goes against everything inside me… I want to push myself, I want to make progress…I don’t want to give up, I don’t want to let myself down.
You can’t always get what you want.

The best hope you have in running, is not just performance (if you love running that is..) it’s longevity. Quite simply do you see a future with, or without running?

I’d like to think I do, but I’m also preoccupied with short term goals. I’ve never tried fishing… I don’t think I’d like it. I like instant results- like feeding koi from a bottle (check out Barcelona Aquarium). PB’s are great, but they’re just a snapshot into a bigger picture and it’s about playing the long game.

So, difficult decisions. 

This weekend is the Lakeland 50: done it before, loved it. Desperate to do it again. Is it going to help or hinder my injury that is steadily improving?

There’s not really much of a debate to be had on this one. I’m not going to be starting. It feels wrong but I know it’s the right decision- next year.

So, on the plus side, this week has been a strong training week, I’ve felt pretty good and have pushed myself. The injury is not 100% there yet but it’s still improving with careful management, slowly increasing mileage, varying surfaces, using stair machine, icing, stretching and…knowing my limits!

PB at Parkrun on Saturday- nice flat course I have to say but that was a big confidence boost. 

Monday was an out and back riverside jog to meet Ed in glorious sunshine.


Tuesday was hills and effort. Run up to the top of Latrigg and jog back down.



Wednesday was stair climbing at the gym.

So I’m happy with the training, I’m disappointed in the L50 but I know I have to be sensible if I really want to shake this niggle. Good luck everyone racing, it’s an amazing event!

Leave a Reply

